Château Laurier Addition

Modification of a rendering by architectsAlliance

HERITAGE OTTAWA

June 24, 2018

LAST CHANCE — HAVE YOUR SAY!

Planning Committee and Ottawa City Council vote on June 26 + 27

An application under the Ontario Heritage Act seeking approval for the addition to Ottawa's Chateau Laurier hotel enters its final stages this week.

Last week, the City of Ottawa’s Built Heritage Sub-Committee (BHSC) met to consider the City staff’s recommendation to approve the latest design for a proposed addition to the venerable Château Laurier hotel.

Heritage Ottawa presented our concerns (see statement) as did other delegates, that this fourth design iteration fails to address or resolve the underlying flaw of the previous designs, namely that the relentlessly horizontal, blocky form of the proposed addition remains fundamentally incompatible with the romantic sensibility of the historic Château and its important site.

Unwilling to have this design move on to Planning Committee( PC) in its proposed form, the BHSC unanimously supported a proposed amendment to the City staff’s recommendation that would make the addition more “visually compatible with the existing Château Laurier.”

Heritage Ottawa supports the intention of the BHSC initiative, but retains strong concerns that the BHSC recommendation does not go far enough to ensure that subsequent design changes achieve design excellence while meeting the Standards and Guidelines’ test of compatibility. 

Heritage Ottawa recommends the following more robust review process be established:

  • Reconstitute the 2017 Heritage Working Group (as suggested by BHSC) to guide the proponent on subsequent design changes;
  • Re-engage the Urban Design Review Panel in a formal review of the resulting design;
  • Invite the public to an Open House before submitting the resulting design for approval, and
  • Amend Recommendation 1(e) of the BHSC Motion, and make any other necessary amendments in order that the resulting design be referred back to BHSC, Planning Committee and Ottawa City Council for final approval under auspices of the Ontario Heritage Act.

The final bullet expresses Heritage Ottawa’s firm belief that final design approval should not be delegated to city staff, as the current motion recommends, but rather that Ottawa City Council should exercise its full authority and responsibility under the Ontario Heritage Act by fully considering all stages of this significant and historic application to alter the Château Laurier hotel.

Share Your Views with the Decision Makers!

The proposed addition will be the most important heritage application to be considered by this term of Ottawa City Council when it votes on June 27.

Contact Our Elected Officials: Here's How

  • Contact MAYOR JIM WATSON and OTTAWA CITY COUNCILLORS by email now to share your opinions, comments or concerns about the proposed Château Laurier addition. (See instructions below.)
  • Submit written remarks or register to speak at the Planning Committee meeting to be held on June 26, 2018 at 9:30 am in the Champlain Room, Ottawa City Hall.  To submit remarks or register, contact Melody Duffenais at Melody.Duffenais@ottawa.ca

Send your email to Mayor Watson and Ottawa City Councillors.
See the contact list below. Use Château Laurier Addition as the subject line.
We encourage you to cc Heritage Ottawa at  info@heritageottawa.org

Jim.Watson@ottawa.ca / Mayor of Ottawa
Bob.Monette@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 1 Orléans
jody.mitic@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 2 Innes
jan.harder@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 3 Barrhaven (CHAIR, Planning Committee)
Marianne.Wilkinson@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 4 Kanata North
Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca  / Ward 5 West Carleton-March
Shad.Qadri@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 6 Stittsville (Member, Planning Committee)
Mark.Taylor@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 7 Bay
Rick.Chiarelli@ottawa.ca  / Ward 8 College (Member, Planning Committee)
Keith.Egli@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 9 Knoxdale-Merivale
Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca   / Ward 10 Gloucester-Southgate
Tim.Tierney@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 11 Beacon-Hill-Cyrville (VICE-CHAIR, Planning Committee)
Mathieu.Fleury@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 12 Rideau-Vanier
Tobi.Nussbaum@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 13 Rideau-Rockcliffe (Vice-Chair, BHSC | Member, Planning Committee)
Catherine.Mckenney@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 14 Somerset
Jeff.Leiper@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 15 Kitshissippi (Member, Planning Committee)
Riley.Brockington@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 16 River (Member, Planning Committee)
David.Chernushenko@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 17 Capital
Jean.Cloutier@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 18 Alta Vista (Member, Planning Committee)
Stephen.Blais@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 19 Cumberland (Member, Planning Committee)
George.Darouze@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 20 Osgoode
Scott.Moffatt@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 21 Rideau-Goulbourn
Michael.Qaqish@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 22 Gloucester-South Nepean
Allan.Hubley@ottawa.ca  /  Ward 23 Kanata South (Member, Planning Committee)

ABOUT THE PROCESS:

As a building designated under the Ontario Heritage Act, any addition to the Château Laurier requires the approval of Ottawa City Council before construction can proceed. The owners have submitted a heritage application to the City of Ottawa, as required by the Act.  Next steps are anticipated as follows:

  • City heritage staff issued a Report on June 11, 2018 recommending approval of the application.
  • Ottawa's Built Heritage Subcommittee (BHSC) met on June 18 to to consider the application and make recommendations to Planning Committee (PC). BHSC unanimously supported a proposed amendment to make the addition “more visually compatible with the existing Château Laurier” (see Motion above).
  • Planning Committee (PC) meets on June 26 to consider BHSC's recommendations and make its own recommendations to the Mayor and Ottawa City Council.
  • The Mayor and Ottawa City Council will meet the next day, June 27, to consider PC's recommendations and vote to approve or not approve the application.

MORE INFORMATION:

  • Heritage Ottawa: Response to Latest Design for Proposed Addition to Château Laurier | June 3, 2018
    HERITAGE OTTAWA | STATEMENT OF JUNE 3, 2018

    Owners of the Château Laurier have unveiled their latest design for a proposed addition to the venerable historic hotel, a National Historic Site of...

  • Heritage Ottawa to Built Heritage Sub-committee re: Chateau Laurier Addition | JUNE 18, 2018

    HERITAGE OTTAWA

    The following text was formally submitted by Heritage Ottawa to the Built Heritage Sub-committee for consideration at its meeting of June 18, 2018. President David Jeanes...

  • Coffman on Proposed Château Laurier Addition: Compatibility

    THE HTA BLOG, By Peter Coffman

    Several objections were raised at last Monday’s meeting of the Built Heritage Sub-Committee to the proposed extension of the Château Laurier. The thread that...

  • Phyllis Lambert to Mayor Jim Watson: Architects of Proposed Château Laurier Addition "Have Not Found a Viable Approach"

    HERITAGE OTTAWA

    Architectural visionary Phyllis Lambert, widely considered one of the world's most influential figures in architecture, has written a letter to Mayor Jim Watson to express...

  • Heritage Sub-committee wants council to send Château Laurier back to the drawing board

    OTTAWA CITIZEN, By Jon Willing

    The city’s built-heritage subcommittee is recommending the architects of the Château Laurier addition go back to the drawing board.

    The panel of...

  • Heritage committee demands more changes to Château annex

    'We want to feel the addition loves the Château as much as we do'

    CBC NEWS, By Laura Osman

    The architects behind a controversial addition to Ottawa's Château Laurier still don't have...

  • Jeanes: Château Laurier addition – design excellence must be the standard

    OTTAWA CITIZEN, By David Jeanes

    The following is offered in rebuttal to a column by Mohammed Adam (Ottawa Citizen, June 11) about the proposed addition to the Château Laurier:

    ...

  • Council decision on Château Laurier addition will be based on rules, not feelings

    OTTAWA CITIZEN, By Jon Willing

    Ottawa city council’s decision on the controversial Château Laurier addition will come down to how the proposal stacks up against the rules, not the feelings...

  • When Architecture Fails to Speak for Itself… The Château Laurier Addition

    Savanturier Blog,  By Andrew Waldron

    Imagine it is 2030 and over the past decade the Château Laurier addition has been derided not only for its misunderstanding of architecture, but for the...

  • Reevely: Latest plans for Château Laurier finally clear the lowest bar

    OTTAWA CITIZEN, By Dave Reevely

    The latest plans for an addition to the Château Laurier would have been a good starting point. They can’t be the end.

    Two years after throwing up a...

Pages