Rideau Canal (This tour will be offered in French simultaneously)
August 4, 2:00 PM - MEET: Bytown Museum (under Parliament Hill).
In 2007, the Rideau Canal was recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On this tour you will hear about the fascinating history of the Ottawa locks where the oldest public building in Ottawa was constructed in 1827, known today as the Bytown Museum. The tour will lead to Major's Hill Park where the remains of the house and the statue in honour of Colonel John By, the man responsible for the construction of the canal between 1826 and 1832, are found. Be prepared to climb a steep hill.
GUIDES: Michel Prévost, Chief Archivist, University of Ottawa, and David Jeanes, urban activist and author of five downtown heritage tours.
Accessibility/Route Information: The tour led by Michel Prévost is not wheel-chair accessible as it involves crossing the locks. It also involves climbing a large hill.
The route taken by David Jeans follows pathways and sidewalks, with stairs at two points on the route. There is a longer wheel-chair accessible route. The total length of the tour is 2 kilometres, ending at Ottawa City Hall. Public washrooms are available.